Hennepin Theatre Trust scheduling and safety update


Explore this page to look through videos, images and other media resources for Spotlight Showcase.

Triple Threat Award recipients

Introducing this year’s Triple Threat Award recipients! We’re proud to present Lillian Carlson from Washburn High School, Andrew Daniels from Prior Lake High School, Aliya Mukamuri from Mankato East High School, Chris Owusu from Maple Grove Senior High School, Emma Schuld from Cretin-Derham Hall and Payton Seacrist from Eastview High School.

These students are some of the brightest stars of Minnesota high school theater. Below, you can see some of their backstage selfies, read their favorite Spotlight stories, watch them perform and hear how Spotlight changed their lives.

Introducing Lillian Carlson!

Introducing Andrew Daniels!

Introducing Aliya Mukamuri!

Introducing Chris Owusu!

Introducing Payton Seacrist!

Introducing Emma Schuld!

About Triple Threat

At Spotlight Showcase each year, the Triple Threat finalists perform live and four students are recognized. Due to the Broadway League’s decision to cancel the National High School Musical Theatre Awards (The Jimmy Awards), we have decided to extend an offer to two additional students this year, ensuring that six Minnesotan students receive professional Broadway experiences. The honorees will receive an all-expenses paid trip to New York, where they will attend Broadway shows, meet with industry professionals and participate in workshops to hone their Triple Threat skills. The Spotlight Education Triple Threat Broadway Experience is presented by Sun Country Airlines, and will occur when travel is safe and Broadway resumes.

Watch Virtually Together: A 2020 Spotlight Tribute


View the Virtually Together Playbill

Image of a playbill with pictures of the participants